That’s a Wrap

When they said that there would be no flying in Draenor, I was okay with that. I was in complete agreement with GhostCrawler, in that flight pretty much ruined a lot of the game’s “magic”, as it were.

I’ve also been of the opinion that Blizz could fix this by simply being bright enough to factor flight into their zone designs, but to date that has not been, shall we say, evident in their efforts.  Blizz took the easy route, and banned flight from Draenor.  Again, I was fine with that.

And when they introduced Draenor Pathfinder, I absolutely had no problem with it.  You want flying? Fine, here you go – but you’re gonna have to work for it.

I just don’t think I’ve ever said I wouldn’t take a shot at getting it myself.

Grimmtooth Draenor Pathfinder

There are a couple of motivations behind this. First of all, it’s one of the few achievements I can acquire in this expansion since I don’t have a raiding guild under me anymore, and I’m an abject failure at PvP (Ironically, Jasra the Disco priest has a better record at PvP than I). So this is one of the few real achievements I can gain while it’s still relevant and not relegated to the ignominy of the Stormwind Flight Trainer.

Secondly, while I’m not raiding I still have a path to some pretty sweet crafted gear, but it requires felblight, which as most of us have found out, is more easily harvested if  you have a flying mount.

Looking back at what I’ve written so far, it sounds almost like an apology for doing something that was difficult to do and well worth the effort. Let’s make that clear: I’m not apologizing for anything. Maybe I need to  make it clear where I’m coming from, but in the end I achieved something that was not easy to achieve, and I’m very happy I did so. It’s nice to fly around again, and I’ve immersed four characters all the way to level 100, with two coming up in the ranks above 90.  I’ve experienced this game from the ground about as much as one can. I’ve paid my dues, kapich?

One weird thing, though.

Flying sure does bring out the spikes in Orcish architecture, doesn’t it?

All the spikes

At any rate, with this achievement I’ve accomplished about all I can accomplish on Grimm except for the Corrupted Dreadwing, which I am saving up  for. That will be a special present for Flora since she found out that Midnight doesn’t fly. Hella grind only to find out it was a ground-only mount. My bad, I confused it with the Headless Horseman’s steed. So I have a bit to make up for.

Posted on January 9, 2016, in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

