And We All Become Like Smoke

Everybody’s got that cranky old uncle that they rarely get along with, but if anyone says one cross word about, you’d defend to the last.  In my WoW-blogging world, WoW Insider is that cranky old uncle.

Earlier this week we heard rumors that Joystiq, parent of both Massively and WoW Insider, was going to be shut down, along with its companion gaming sites.  A lot of people wrote about this, but in my heart, I hoped they were jumping the gun.

Today that hope was dashed.  Tuesday, February 3 ((Incidentally, the anniversary of the destruction of Space Shuttle Columbia.)) will be the day that the music dies for Joystiq and its kin, and WoW Insider logs out for good.

Now, when I say I didn’t get along with WoW Insider, that’s a sort of overstatement. I did tend to ridicule them for their over-reliance of fifty-dollar words, for apparent word inflation to up word counts, for seeming to be so intent on sounding impressive that they forgot to BE impressive in their writing.  For meekness, for not getting in the middle of anything controversial ((And, in fact, for backing out of teh dramaz when they killed off Guildwatch all those years ago.)). For being as bland as store-bought biscuits and gravy-from-a-pouch.  For playing it so safe as to make one wonder if they were getting kickbacks from Blizz.

I subtweeted the SHIT outta that, and I regret nothing.

regret

NOTHING.

And for all that bluster, I read that blog Every. Titans. Damned. Day.  EVERY day. Because bland and overtaped though they might have been, they WERE a bunch of people trying to get it right. A room full of kindred spirits. And it was one place that you could go to reliably to find useful information about WoW.

I would have liked it if the fare were a little spicier. If they would have maybe tossed away a few of those thesauruses that they found outside the used book store. If they mixed it up a bit, stuck out that lower jaw and dared Blizz to knock that chip off their shoulder.  But they chose a middle road and I can’t really begrudge them. It was a choice.  It was a safe choice ((Even if, ultimately, it didn’t matter.)). And one of us was getting paid to do it, and one of us wasn’t, so there’s some context into which my opinions can be placed.

Fact is, they provided something helpful – an omnibus, central clearing house of WoW stuff, and there is NO ONE in a position to take up that banner once it has fallen. ((MMO-C, you say?  WoWI was one of their major sources.  Gimme a break. They might not last the year after a blow like this.))

Being critical is not the same as hating.  I was critical of this site because I cared, and saw so much more potential there than they were able to deliver. I wouldn’t be tweeting those snarky little subtweets if I hadn’t been reading the site. And I would not waste my time reading the site if I didn’t care about what they were doing.

Cranky old Uncle Edwin was a gigantic pain in the ass, but he was OUR gigantic pain in the ass and we all miss him to this day.  So it shall be with WoW Insider, in a slightly different way.  I’m going to miss them. A lot.

There is, at this point, a tremendous vacuum in the WoW blogosphere. Someone could step in and make something out of it if they could get funding. I hope it happens.  Maybe with members of this very crew.

I have one last thing to say, and it is the title of this Penny Arcade tribute.

"Godspeed"

So say we all.

Posted on January 30, 2015, in Blogosphere and tagged . Bookmark the permalink. 4 Comments.

  1. A tremendous vacuum indeed. I still can’t believe it’s happened, and so suddenly, too. Here’s hoping we see a new incarnation of it in the very near future!

    Like

    • Remembering the layoffs of the class writers in 2014, this is less of a surprise than is the timing of it – you’re right, it was pretty sudden!

      I had heard there might be plans for a new effort from the same crew, but I’ve nothing concrete so I left if out of my post (I know, me leaving out something because it was unconfirmed? WAT). But there’s enough hinting going on from Alex and the gang that I’m hopeful. I wouldn’t be surprised, either, if ZAM had something to do with it (just a theory).

      Like

      • Ah yes, very true. It was a ghost of itself after that first round of culling. Perhaps it was more denial on my part, more than anything!

        I guess we will all know what they’re up to come Tuesday! I for one will definitely be supporting it 🙂

        Like

  1. Pingback: Grimmtooth's Troops » Buy a drink for your cranky weird uncle Alex

Leave a Reply

