How to Huntard: Power Auras

There are plenty of tutorials on how to set up POWA. There are fewer that illustrate the practical applications thereof. Accept, therefore, one such application, specifically for the Hunter sort of player.

First of all, I have the following tracked for all of my toons. These go under the “global” heading and are very important. Drop me a note if you’re not clear on how to set them up.  I’ll be happy to assist.

  1. EAT SOMETHING. I kid you not, this is the actual text. I have a buff tracker set up so that, if I don’t have the Well Fed buff, I see this text in the middle of my screen, flashing, so that it bugs me until I eat something. It’s a free buff, so why the heck don’t you just eat something that gives you a buff?
  2. Aspect of the Pack – I am a Huntard, bred and blood. I know that we’re a forgetful bunch. So I have a warning set up so that if I, or someone else in the party, has Aspect of the Pack up, it’s big, bold, and centered in my UI, no matter who I’m playing. What you do about it is up to you, but I generally bitch until it goes away. That works pretty well.

On, then, to the hunter-specific POWA settings. At first, I thought about doing one for each build, but then I realized that each is just a variation on the theme. Therefore, I present my Marksman build settings, and you can extropolate for Survival and Beastmaster. It’s easy, and even cut-and-paste, so I expect there will be little to few issues.

In the attached illustration, you see a number of auras up. Let me essplain.

4, 5, and 6 are actual keystrokes, and represent [Chimera Shot], [Aimed Shot], and [Arcane Shot] in my shot rotation. If you were Survival these would be replaced with others, such as [Black Arrow] and [Explosive Shot]. Also shown here is [Serpent Sting], which will go away once I hit the “3” key. Missing is #8, which is [Kill Shot], which is pretty much universal for me across all specs.

So, how’s this work?

OK, so it’s simple. What I’ve done is set up a POWA warning for each of the main abilities that I use. The what and the how are unimportant, what is important is that I’ve chosen to be warned of the availability of an ability.When each ability is available, a warning pops up in plain view.  Kapisch?

Instead of watching my button bars, I can move these handy reminders wherever it is that I spend my time staring. It doesn’t matter so much what I just did, as much as whether I did it, and where I am looking.

With this in mind, I propose that Power Auras is still the king, and reigning champion, of ability warning UI addons. If you need more evidence, Jasra and Floramel will provide additional incentives to learn how to use this addon effectively, no matter what your role in a raid or party.

Posted on May 25, 2010, in Addons, How to huntard. Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

